Seven books for every reader’s 2017 list

The new and soon-to-be releases that every avid novel-lover will be purchasing at the bookstore this year

Bookworms, rejoice. This year a plethora of highly anticipated books from poets and novelists are set to be released. The issues addressed in these upcoming paperbacks include everything from race, young love and loss. Here are a couple of books that should be on every lover of literature’s must-read list this year:


“The Meaning of Michelle” by Michelle Obama, edited by Veronica Chambers
Already released this month, the novel takes a break from exploring the former First Lady’s fashion choices and examines her effect on United States culture. Sixteen writers dive in Obama’s influence on race, womanhood, class and marriage. It was listed as one of Glamour’s “Best Books to Read in 2017” and the Huffington Post’s “27 Nonfiction Books By Women Everyone Should Read in 2017.”

“Letters to a Young Muslim” by Omar Saif Ghobash

This released book recently made Time Magazine’s “Most Ancipated Books of 2017” list. In the book, Ghobash, the United Arab Emirate’s ambassador to Russia, writes letters to his son about being a Muslim in the 21st century. While trying to answer his child’s questions, he makes the case for moderates to unify and combine the religion’s beliefs and traditions with contemporary realities. Insight into the Muslim community is provided with its everyday experiences.

“Aftermath: Empire’s End” by Chuck Wendig
“Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi” isn’t the only “Star Wars” story being released this year. This novel by Wendig is the third and final book in the “Aftermath Trilogy” and will hit bookstores on Feb. 21. The story takes place in a galaxy far, far away and will feature the Battle of Jakku, the final battle in the Galactic Civil War.

“The Hate You Give” by Angie Thomas

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Thomas’ debut novel has gotten so much buzz that Fox 2000/Temple Hill Productions is already planning to turn it into a film. The book addresses issues of racism and police violence through the fictional story of Starr Carter, who bounces between her poverty-stricken neighborhood and her ritzy suburban prep school. This balance is ruined, however, when Carter witnesses the shooting of her childhood friend. The book is set to be released on Feb. 28.

“Into the Water” by Paula Hawkins
Can New York Times best-selling author Hawkins top her global phenomenon “Girl on the Train” with this book? Readers can expect an answer on May 2. This upcoming psychological thriller centers on a fifteen-year-old girl who ends up living with an aunt from an uncomfortable past. This resulted after the death of both her mother and friend. The book analyses the deceptiveness of memory in order to satisfy readers with sudden twists and sharp turns.

“Lord of Shadows” by Cassandra Clare
This sequel to the bestselling novel “Lady Midnight” is set in the world of Shadowhunters. “Lord of Shadows” puts Emma Carstairs in a love triangle between her “parabatai” Julien and his brother. All must put their tension aside as they fight to protect everything they hold dear. Look for it May 23.

“The Winds of Winter” by George R. R. Martin
Fans of HBO’s “Game of Thrones” and Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” have been begging this author to release another book for the last six years. Martin hinted to fans that the next installment in his popular series may be out this year, writing on his blog that although the book isn’t finished yet, he has “made a lot of progress.”

'Seven books for every reader’s 2017 list' has no comments

Be the first to comment this post!

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published.